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Report your  
New Hires  
within 20 days

Employers  
help save  
MILLIONS  
of dollars



As an employer you can make  
a difference.
Washington’s New Hire Reporting program 
requires employers to report ALL new employees 
within 20 days of hire or rehire. Your new hire 
reports help the state collect child support. Not 
only does prompt reporting help kids, it helps 
employers save each other millions of dollars in 
unemployment benefit charges every year. 

New Hire Reporting is easy!
You won't need much more than your employee's 
W-4 form. Most employers can complete the 
process online in minutes. 

It’s the law… and it’s the  
right thing to do.
The New Hire reporting program is a state 
(RCW 26. 23. 040) and federal law, but more 
importantly it’s the right thing to do. And you, 
as an employer, are a key partner in making the 
program a success. By reporting on time, you 
make it easier to put an end to benefits fraud  
and you’ll be helping kids in Washington state.  
Thank You!

To learn more, visit: DSHS.wa.gov/Newhire  
or call  800-591-2760.
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