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New Hire Reporting & Child Support --
Time Saving Tools & Best Practices 

Division of Child Support

Doug Cheney
Division of Child Support
800-591-2760 / 866-668-9518
childsupportonline.wa.gov 1

Goals

• Avoid costly mistakes
• Reduce paperwork
• Save time
• Help kids and families
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Objectives

• Discuss and learn about the following:
– New Hire Reporting requirements & changes
– Child support laws and requirements
– Answering an Income Withholding Order
– Where and when to send withheld funds
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Why is DCS Involved?

• Federal Mandate
• State Law
• Reduce Tax Burden
• Self Sufficiency
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• Washington DCS is responsible for 
375,000 cases -- about 750 cases 
per officer. 

• DCS processes 250,000 payments 
each month.

• Employers reduce tax burden by 
$205 million a year.

• 17 million children (more than 1/3 
of all kids in US) received $26 
billion in child support in 2012.

Child Support Facts

Division of Child Support
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17 million children receiving child support 
services would fill the state of Florida
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Collection Tools
• Income Withholding
• Bank Account Garnishment
• Property Liens
• Tax Refund Offset
• License Suspension
• Non Wage Earner Program
• Passport Denial
• Most Wanted Website
• Credit Bureau Reporting
• Lottery Intercept
• Judicial Contempt 7
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State Statistics

• 160,000 employers in Washington State
• $700 million collected annually
• 65% of collections come from income 

withholding 
• 1.8 million new hire reports
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Employer Responsibilities

1. Report new hires and rehires
2. Answer withholding notices within 20 days
3. Begin withholding next pay date
4. Remit within 7 days
5. Enroll dependents in medical plan 
6. Notify DCS when employee stops working
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New Hire Reporting

https://secure.dshs.wa.gov/dcsonline
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New Hire Reporting Facts

• 1.8 million new hires reported each year
• Easy, fast and free
• One government program with no paper
• BIG results
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New Hire Reporting

• What is New Hire Reporting?
– RCW 26.23.040

• Who is responsible to report?
– Employers (third party payroll service)

• Why is reporting important?
– Tax dollars reimbursed
– Reduction in fraud
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New Hire Reporting Changes

• Report the following employee data elements
• Name
• Address
• Social Security Number 
• Date of Birth
• Date of Hire (date the employee first works for pay) 
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New Hire Requirements

• When to Report:
– Report within 20 days of the date of hire or 

rehire
– If you do business in two or more states, you 

can report all new hires to one state
– You must register with the National New Hire 

Program
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New Hire Reporting Methods

• Internet: https://secure.dshs.wa.gov/dcsonline

• Fax: 800-782-0624
• Phone: 800-562-0479
• Questions:  Call 800-562-0479
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New Hire Requirements

• The most efficient reporting option is the 
web site:

https://secure.dshs.wa.gov/dcsonline
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New Hire Reporting

• Advantages of Web Reporting:
– Immediate feedback (accuracy and validity)
– Confirmation e-mail 
– Cost savings
– Immediate processing
– Quick answers to questions 
– Access to history report
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New Hire Web Benefits

• Web site allows for the uploading of large 
files
– Comma Separated Value (CSV) Format 
– Fixed-Width File Upload
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What Does DCS Do With the Information?

5 days to enter the data into their system

2 days to conduct a match and complete withholding 
actions

3 days to forward New Hire information to the National 
Directory of New Hires (NDNH)

So now what?

• DCS may get a match

• Withholding Order Issued
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New Hire Reporting

• What if I make a mistake?
• Can I be fined?
• Questions?
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QUESTIONS?

New Hire Reporting: 
dcshire@dshs.wa.gov
Doug Cheney
360-664-5043
1-800-591-2760

dcheney@dshs.wa.gov

…or call your local DCS office 35

Income Withholding

36
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Income Withholding

• In this section you will learn the following:
– Child Support laws and requirements
– How to process Income Withholding Orders
– How to answer Income Withholding Orders
– Where and when to send withheld funds

37
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What do you know?
• How many days does an 

employer have to answer a 
withholding notice? 

• 20 days
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What do you know?

• When should an employer begin 
withholding?

• Begin withholding the next pay 
date
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What do you know?

• How long does an employer 
have to remit withheld funds?

• 7 working days
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What do you know?

• True or False: An employer is 
required to notify DCS when an 
employee stops working?

• True. If an employer is 
withholding child support and 
the employee stops working, 
notify DCS. 
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What do you know?
• If DCS asks you to withhold $1200 per 

month but the employee’s 
disposable income is only $1000 per 
month, what amount should DCS 
expect to receive  (assume one 
payment per month)?

• $500 monthly / 50% disposable 
income
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What do you know?
• An employee approaches you and tells 

you that you no longer need to withhold 
child support because his child 
graduated from high school and shows 
you a copy of the diploma. Do you stop 
withholding based on this information?

• NO! Only stop withholding when you 
receive a written notice from DCS.

51

Division of Child Support
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What do you know?
• True or False: DCS withholding notices 

take priority over any other 
withholding against the employee?

• True, with the possible exception of 
the IRS.  Contact DCS if there is a 
question.

52Copyright 2014, DSHS Division of Child Support

Division of Child Support

How to Avoid Errors and Fines

• Do not withhold more than 50 percent 
of disposable earnings. 

• Do not stop withholding until you receive 
an official written release. 

• Notify DCS immediately when an employee is 
no longer working for you.

• Withhold from tips and gratuities under an 
employer’s control as well as wages of 
independent contractors.
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Income Withholding

• What if I make a mistake?
• Questions? 
• Review
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Uniform Interstate Family Support Act

or

Out of State Withholding Orders
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Division of Child Support
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Uniform Interstate Family Support Act

• Income Withholding Orders may come 
from any state 

• Withhold support equally for each order
• Always pay current support first
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UIFSA Examples

• Washington Order
• $400 current support
• $200 arrears

California Order

$200 current support

$100 arrears

Employee earns $800 net, total withholding limited to 
$400.  Employers withhold equally for each order.  
Current support is always paid first.

$200 current support$200 current support
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UIFSA Examples

• Washington Order
• $400 current support
• $200 arrears

California Order

$200 current support

$100 arrears

Employee earns $1600 net, total withholding limited to 
$800.  Employers withhold equally for each order.  
Current support is always paid first.
$400 current support $200 current support
$100 arrears $100 arrears

Payments
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TOO MUCH PAPER?
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Electronic Payment Benefits

Employers Get What They Need
– Fewer steps, no paper nightmare
– Safer and less expensive than writing checks
– Accuracy, accountability and 

security built into the process
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Electronic Payment Benefits

Families Get Their Money Fast
– 100% of E-payments are processed the 

same day

Taxpayers Save Resources
– Increase in volume does not equate to 
increase in staff
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Electronic Payment Benefits

.06 per transaction$5 per check

_________________•Positive Pay Fees
•Encoding Costs
•Image Fees

•Postage
•Small Bank Fee•Staff Wages
•Minimal Staff Wages•Check Costs

EFT FEESCHECK RELATED FEES

.06 per transaction$5 per check

_________________•Positive Pay Fees
•Encoding Costs
•Image Fees

•Postage
•Small Bank Fee•Staff Wages
•Minimal Staff Wages•Check Costs

EFT FEESCHECK RELATED FEES

Division of Child Support
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Some payments must be 
processed manually
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Labor intensive to process paper checks.  
It takes 15 employees to process 40% of 
child support payments. 
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One employee processes the other 60% 
of child support payments electronically.
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Tools for Employers 
SSA Verification Website

www.ssa.gov/employer/ssnv.htm

Guide to Doing Business in Washington
www.bizguide.wa.gov

Employer Guide & Workbook
www.childsupportonline.wa.gov
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